Click here to find a mentally interesting date at No Longer Lonely Keep Crazymeds on the air. Donate some spare electronic currency you have floating around The Cloud

Some Crazymeds mugs to help you wash down your meds. Get mugged for at Straitjacket T-shirts for more. 11oz mugs are $13. 15oz mugs are $14.
Mentally Interesting mug
Mentally Interesting
Medicated For Your Protection mug
Medicated For Your Protection
Team Bipolar mug
Team Bipolar
Brain Cooties Aren
Brain Cooties Aren't Contagious
Photo

Melatonin And Prozac

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 jendaizbee

jendaizbee

DIY Trepanist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Diagnoses:Schizoaffective Disorder, hypothyroidism, Fibromyalgia, Sjogren's Syndrome
  • Current Meds:Prozac, Latuda, Clonazepam, Vistaril, Ambien, Risperdal Consta IM, Melatonin

Posted 25 April 2012 - 11:42 AM

Hey folks,

Does anyone have a clue how SSRI's like Prozac interact with Melatonin? I've been using Melatonin for about two years almost every night, because I have horrible insomnia. Lately, I've had to use ridiculous amounts some nights just to be able to sleep at all - I mean up to 50 mgs. (the highest form they come in over the counter that I've seen is a 10 mg capsule). I know this is abnormal and weird, as well as probably a bad idea. But my rheumatologist who I see for an autoimmune disease and Fibromyalgia told me "It's impossible to overdose on Melatonin" once, so, you know, I get desperate for sleep and take desperate measures.

My question is: I've been on Prozac for a couple of months now after going off Wellbutrin because I have mild OCDD and the Prozac helps with that. But I'm wondering whether or not taking all this Melatonin is counteracting the Prozac's effects on my Seratonin, or, if to the contrary, it's compounding the effects. Either way, I really have no clue about it.

Any information would be helpful.